Gingerbread houses and the meaning of Christmas

img_9310

So, just a week to go to the annual plastic consumption and food gorging fest that Christmas has come to be for so many in the rather laughable titled ‘developed’ world.

People consume more food in a few days than they normally would in two weeks, we spend more money than we often really have, we buy gifts that no one really needs and give them to people who already have more than they will ever need.

We then spend January going on detoxes, diets and trips to the local tip to get rid of all the plastic from last Christmas to make space for this year’s trinket downpour.

Somewhere before this madness and over consumption, there was a meaning to Christmas for most, and to me, it has never been about religion, it is always about spending time with the people who matter and having fun, taking a break from the day-to-day, switching off, having a laugh and doing things together with family and friends.

Today, my daughter and I spent time building gingerbread houses together and laughing as the roof slid off my house. That’s what Christmas means to me.

What does Christmas mean to you?

One thought on “Gingerbread houses and the meaning of Christmas

  1. Christmas means presents to me. Lol. I’m a loner. Spending time together doesn’t always rank very high on my list of things I want to do. But I love giving and receiving presents. It’s up to the gifter to buy something meaningful that the person actually needs and will use.

Leave a Reply

